Please give us an option to turn off the automatic brightness in the vive pro 2,and maybe also to turn off the Display Stream Compression (DSC)And let us chose our own resolution!

cees

Hello there,

Please give us an option to turn off the automatic brightness in the vive pro 2,and  also to turn off the Display Stream Compression (DSC)And let us chose our own resolution!

The picture can be sharper i know that for sure..

Yes we should be allowed to adjust the brightness manually. I'm wondering if the lack of brightness adjustment is intentional or if they just haven't implemented the feature. Should be a very basic one. Used to being able to adjust brightness of my Index in steamvr dashboard. If they won't allow that at least let us adjust the brightness in vive console?

Hi all.

Just got the Vive Pro 2. I have been using Vive Pro for a couple of years now. and I have to say that my first impression was the huge difference in the blacks. In the pro 2 the blacks are very gray. In a scene in Half Life Alyx, in an area where it is supposed to be dark, this new gray brightness is so strong and annoying in comparison with Vive Pro that I now have second doubts about my new purchase. 

I have been searching everywhere to find some kind of brightness settings but I cannot see it anywhere. SteamVR shows Night Mode control for Vive Pro, which at least something. But when I switch to Vive Pro 2, even this Night Mode settings disappears. 

I even tried to edit some files like c:\ProgramData\HTC\ViveSoftware\ViveVRRuntime\htcvr.vrsettings, but my custom setting for contrast gets overwritten immediately after I start SteamVR.  This is the settings I used :

{
   "driver_fog" : {
      "EnableCRLog" : 0,
      "EnableHmdLog" : 0
   },
   "driver_lighthouse" : {
      "deactivateStandbyOverride" : 2
   },
   "htcvr" : {
      "DisplayResolutionAuto" : false,
      "DisplayResolutionMode" : 4,
      "preferFrameRate" : 120
      "Contrast" : 0.1,
      "Saturation" : 1
   }
}