HELP PLEASE: Device driver software was not successfully installed.

MartinMarty

That is the message I have been looking at for the last 24 hours. I'm just installing my new HTC Vive and not having very good results.  The hardware is an Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 mobo with 16GB RAM and Windows 7 x64, which I have been using for several years but I'm not a gamer. When I decided I wanted to play with VR, I updated it with a 750W PSU and went from onboard video to a Zotac GTX 1080 AMP Extreme. The BIOS is the most current and all the mobo drivers are too, as far as I know (none of them have been updated in years so it seems like they ought to be pretty stable).

From what I can tell, it basically comes down to that one problem, the headset not being recognized or (for whatever reason) its driver will not install. After reading the forums and searching a lot, I have not made much progress. The only ground I've gained in the last 24 hours is at the one part of the ViveSetup.exe where it autodetects the USB and HDMI connection to the headset, my installation now detects the HDMI part but still no USB. I have tried ALL the USB ports on the machine, even installed more, to no avail. I currently have 6 USB ports on the motherboard back panel (two USB 2.0, two USB 3.0 Intel, two USB 3.0 Asrock). I also have two USB 3.0 ports on the front of the case. I also (due to last night's frustration) have a front panel assembly from another PC case hanging out the side with another four USB 2.0 ports on it). And, since none of that worked, I just installed an ancient 5-port USB 2.0 PCI card, but it fails in the same way.

Please note: All of these ports work - i.e. I can plug a flash drive into them and it shows up just like it should. Only the Vive headset is resisting. Furthermore, with the link box attached and recognozed as a hub, I can plug my flash drive into the USB connector for the headset and it shows up fine.