Getting started with VR eye tracking development for research

Hi, 

I'm a game developer at the Utrecht University in the Netherlands where I build VR applications/prototypes for research. The Vive Pro Eye and the Pupil Labs Binocular Add-on for the Vive are currently on my radar.
I'm a especially interested in the Vive Pro Eye since the software/sdk seems to be more mature but that is merely based on assumption and bias, I need to info to back this up.

While I've read the documentation on the Vive Developer and tobii xr sdk pages, I still have many unanswered questions. I tried to contact HTC(support and sales) and Tobii (xr development and sales) but have yet to receive a reply.

For context, I'm building a environment in Unity that is experienced from a seated position. I want to tracks pupil size and gaze(both timestamped) , I also want to measure saccadic eye movement.I'm currently researching VR eye tracking solutions for an upcoming project.

My questions:

1. What is the difference between Vive Eye Tracking SDK (SRanipal) and the tobii xr sdk. While tobii published a clear api reference, I can't find something similar about SRanipal
  2. Are there events that indicate the start and end of saccadic eye movement or are is the prefabricated code available to measure this?
  3. How does does the data flow work from the integrated eye tracker into unity, is all raw data available in Unity or do I get data that is filtered for in game performance. Also, is the data directly fed into the unity plugin or does it run through external software like with other professional tobii products.
  4. If I want to record data from offline analysis, or do I have build some sort of logger or is there a function in the sdk. Also, is the eye tracking data only available in the plugin or can I also access it externally in windows.
  5. I've recently read an article on slippage: https://link.springer.com/article/10.3758/s13428-019-01307-0