Why no webvr with a browser?

Steve973

Hello, all.  I'm pretty new to the Vive (late adopter) and this is my first post on this forum.  I see articles from January of this year claiming that Firefox Reality will be available for the vive this year.  I see that the standalone vive headsets can use it, but not the regular vive that is tethered to a computer.  Are they still going to adapt it to work with either viveport or steamvr for the standard vive headset?  Although we can use apps like virtual desktop and supermedium, it would be a whole lot more convenient to have a browser that can handle both 2d and webvr/webxr content, just like FF Reality will do on mobile headsets.  Do any of you have any insight into this, or if there is still an ETA for a FFR release?  By the way, I have also read that FFR is the default browser for the headset, but that can't be true unless I'm missing something extremely obvious.

Thanks in advance.

We'd have to defer to Mozilla on this. They did make an offical blog post formally announcing Firefox Reality for SteamVR (desktop). It doesn't seam like it's been released yet based off their support page. Perhaps it's just slightly delayed? FFR is the default on Vive Focus - it does not appear to be available on desktop at all currently pending their previously announced desk release.

• 1 month later...

But you guys still understand that makes your product subpar? Referring to another company's short comings means your product is still a short coming whether that company delivered or not. As of now, I may have been fooled buying this product, but that mistake will not be happening again as a lot of  reviewers have already stated. 

You guys need to get to work making sure you actually have content and an appropriate experience. If you give us hardware but you're lacking content we have giant paperweight

Edited by Cappy1

@Cappy1 I unfortunately think you're confused about the current status of WebXR/WebVR.