How to Set Up Full Body Tracking

TheReflectingVoid

Hi ,

Since affordable body tracking is a pretty new development, there is no real software standard for how to get bodytracking to work and it's currently handled on an application by application basis. Upon the consumer release of Vive Tracker, many apps will support the Vive tracker natively but it's up to individual developers to chose they ways in which they'll implement it. In most cases you'll need some type of body strap. Are you trying to do development with the tracker, mocap, or for general usage? 

I am interested in the consumer applications.  I have no techncial knowledge and am not a developer.  Predominately I am trying to get full body tracking in VR Chat so that I can dance with full body tracking with the HTC Vive in roomscale.  And from there I'll eventually use it for other games or applications that support it.  From what I understand it should support it once I properly set up the trackers with SteamVR and that compatible programs will be able to read them on my body appropriately.  I know you can get the TrackStraps for feet but was curious how you would get the waist tracker to connect to your body.  After some thinking it became pretty obvious that you could just wrap the tracker around a belt.  That would work would it not?  Alternatively I was thinking you could use some kind of mounting bracket to pin it through a belt hole but I am not sure what that would be.

Obviously not a lot of applications support full body tracking but it is something that really excites me after spending a few hours full-on dancing in VRChat in the various club worlds.  I used to dance at nearby goth clubs and really want to replicate that at home.

For VRChat specifically, you don't need to rig an avatar if you use their rig (which makes things much simpler).

https://docs.vrchat.com/v1.0/docs/creating-your-first-avatar